Angling Awareness Awards

Awards recognize writers who inspire people to participate in recreational fishing.

Kid fishing in lake with his father.


ASA established the Angling Awareness Awards to recognize writers who are inspiring people to get more involved in recreational fishing.

ASA will award up to six Angling Awareness Awards : three endemic awards, for pieces published in platforms that speak directly to anglers as well as outdoor lifestyle outlets; and three non-endemic awards, for pieces published in platforms not specifically geared to fishing or outdoor activities.

ASA created the Angling Awareness Awards to support the Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation’s (RBFF) industry-wide effort to increase the current 49.1 million U.S. anglers to 60 million in 60 months, or by 2021.

Recognizing the Winners

Up to six prizes will be given, with five writers each receiving $300 cash awards, plaques and a customized St. Croix rod.

The Grand Prize winner will receive a $1,000 cash prize, a recognition plaque, a customized St. Croix rod and an invitation to attend ASA’s 2019 Sportfishing Summit. This year’s Summit is being held October 8-11, at Skamania Lodge in Stevenson, Wash. The award will be presented on Thursday evening, October 10, during ASA’s annual awards dinner.

Inaugural Awards Sponsor

St. Croix Rods, a family-owned business headquartered in Park Falls, Wis. and a long-time ASA member, is the sponsor of this new awards program. St. Croix manufacturers both conventional and fly rods in their Wisconsin facility.

St Croix Rods Logo

To Enter

Click here for all the award details.

Click here for the Submission form. The deadline for submissions has been extended to July 12.

Using the Submission Form

In order to use the form, please download and save it and then open it with Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Acrobat Reader. Once it’s open in Adobe, please fill in the information and use the SUBMIT button.

Click here for ASA’s Media Guide.

For more information, contact ASA Communications Director Mary Jane Williamson.